A Commentary on the Modern World


“A Time to Live”
June 11, 2010, 8:38 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I commonly ask myself, “What do I want to be and accomplish with my life before I die?”   Every time I ask this question, I usually answer it in a similar fashion. “I want to be the greatest I can be in faith and in deed.  I want to be a giant for Christ in my doctrine and its respected application to enlighten the world with a true theology that can be understood and applied to their darkened worldview.”

By the time I am 30, I want to be Dr. Benjamin J. Knotts, a professor of theology, pastor, mentor, an accomplished author and the founder of  an interdenominational accountability program.  By the time I am 35, I want to have started 5 academies that provide a moral foundation to interpret and support the study of the sciences, math, linguistics, literature, and the arts, as well as the necessary, physical education. By the time I am 40, I hope to have turned this effort to strengthen the minds and faith of the next generation into a international effort for the betterment of all mankind.

I look at all I hope my life will be in the next 15 years, and I suddenly realize that such efforts will not become a reality unless I recognize the significant amount of time all of these efforts will need, and moreover, I must use this time to prepare myself to accomplish these goals and begin work to fulfill these goals.  I only have 203 days 9 hours and 40 minutes left or roughly 5,088 hours left in the year.  If I need 8 hours a day to sleep, that leaves me with 3,464 hours this year to work to accomplish my vision for life.

I guess all life boils down to really is how many hours you took of your life to what matters versus how many hours you took to do what didn’t.  I suppose this is why the Psalmist wrote this:

So teach us (God) to number our days, that we might apply our hearts to wisdom.”  Psalm 90:12

There are no differences in Kings and Men.  Only how they use the time in their day.  Presidents and the poor are both given the same number of hours in a day.  How they take advantage of that time is what makes them men who are to be admired, hated, and in many cases, simply ignored.  The time you have today is the time you have to become a better you.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

